Some of the TIFF films I missed.

FishTank

This little post will just show the films I was interested in that were released in the first package – I won’t type out synopses for the films I don’t want to see from the 21 pack because it’s too much effort for an unnecessary post.

Throwing it Back
Air Doll – starring: Du-na Bae and Arata. The latest film from Japanese auteur Hirozaku Koreeda is ‘Air Doll’ – the story of a man ordering a blow-up doll, falling in love with it and it coming to life over night. I really enjoy this concept – it’s only bounded by the director’s imagination (he seems to have quite a large one) and the movie just sounds like a bundle of fun. I really liked After Life and am planning on seeing Still Walking, but he’s certainly one of the new Asian filmmakers that I truly admire. Hopefully I’ll catch this. Set for a January release in Russia. (An 8/10 on my personal Anticipation Meter)

Fish Tank – starring: Michael Fassbinder and Katie Jarvis. Unofficially called “the most depressing film at Cannes”, ‘Fish Tank’ is bound to be something exceptional. The synopsis – a teenage girl falls in love with her mother’s new boyfriend – seems like some prime time soap-opera after school special, but apparently it’s much darker than the softly shot films of yesterday. If it’s truly depressing, I might have to see it because this concept can be truculent if in the right hands – and Andrea Arnold certainly has the skill to make harrowing cinema (see: Red Road). A September release is set for the UK. (An 8/10 on my personal Anticipation Meter)

Gigante – starring: Horacio Camandule and Leonor Svarcas. Stalky! The story is about a supermarket security guard and his obsession with the late-night female janitor. Looking at her through security tapes and following her rather than watching the store, Jara is in love, but doesn’t have the proper equipment to express it. Very interesting concept, but it could get exhausting quick. Luckily it’s only 84 minutes long, so perhaps the director felt the same and made it as punctual as possible without treading boredom. I hope to catch it. It was released in Uruguay in May of this year. (An 8/10 on my personal Anticipation Meter)

The Happiest Girl in the World – starring: Andreea Bosneag and Doru Catanescu. If you know me, you know I love Romanian New Wave cinema. So I’m definitely going to catch this. The plot is just simple – a young woman wins a car in a lottery but her scheming parents persist and plan on selling it; a blend of comedy and drama. If it were Romanian New Wave, I’d probably skip it, but since it is, consider me excited. Released in Romania on May 8th of this year. (A 9/10 on my personal Anticipation Meter)

Les Herbes Folles – starring: Mathieu Amalric and Emmanuelle Devos. Two of the best current French actors in another film together… directed by Alain Resnais? I don’t even need to read a plot to already be in. Here it is anyhow: A woman loses a wallet, a man finds it but he falls for her and doesn’t know how to express his love. So he helps her find the wallet (even though he has it) in hopes of finding love. Simply creative and wonderful – I’m totally down. Set for an October 21st release in France. (A 9/10 on my personal Anticipation Meter)

Independencia – starring: Sid Lucero and Alessandra de Rossi. Get ready to be blown away with style – Raya Martin’s latest film is a throwback to silent films in an attempt to encapsulate his vision of the Philippines and the majesty it holds. Plus after seeing Melancholia I’m willing to give a 77 minute long Philipino film a go. Should fit into my schedule well! No release date has been set. (An 8/10 on my personal Anticipation Meter)

Irene – starring: Alain Cavalier. A documentary from the Visions programme, ‘Irene’ is Alain Cavalier’s reflection piece – a film about the memories of his now deceased wife. A very touching concept. It also appears to be pretty visually engaging as well, which is what many documentaries lack. I’d very much like to see this, so lets hope it fits. Set for an October 28th release in France. (An 8/10 on my personal Anticipation Meter)

La Pivellina – starring: Asia Crippa and Patrizia Gerardi. Not completely willing to throw myself into a seat for this, but I’m almost convinced to make it more of a priority. The story is about a circus woman and her husband. One day, they find a two year old girl in their trailer park. They do what all goodhearted people would do and take the child in, take care of it and attempt to find her mother. The images TIFF are posting make the film seem like a very endearing and modest picture, which is what I’d be hoping to see given the plot. Set for an October release in Italy. (A 7/10 on my personal Anticipation Meter)

Police, Adjective – starring: Dragos Bucur and Vlad Ivanov. More Romanian New Wave + a director I really like + two of Romania’s best actors = my most anticipated film of the year. If only Anamaria were to make an appearance… Well anyways, here’s the plot: A police officer refuses to arrest a young man for offering drugs to his friends. Simple, mysterious… I’m down like a clown. No release date has been set for this film yet. (A 10/10 on my personal Anticipation Meter)

The Time That Remains – starring: Elia Suleiman and Yasmine Haj. Nominated for the Palme d’Or, this Belgian film about the birth of Israel in 1948 growing into it’s current state isn’t an excessively intriguing film, but it seems like it’ll be a good feature nonetheless. Great reviews have been put forth about the film, so perhaps I’m not giving it enough credit. I’ll see it if I can, but I’m sure I’ll have another opportunity to see it if not. It will be released in France on August 8th. (A 7/10 on my personal Anticipation Meter)

That was just to give you all a little bit of insight into what else I’m looking forward to this year. I’m definitely not going to miss Police, Adjective or Les Herbes Folles.

Leave a Reply

