Forizzer’s Halfway Awards

forizzcars

Yes, it is that time of year. Even though it’s been a few weeks past the midway point, I figured I’d post this anyways. Plus I was just waiting to reach the century mark in 2009 films seen. Well, enjoy. I haven’t seen everything that’s been released thus far in the year, but you know I try. I’ll also make my awards exclusively to films that have set dates for American releases – just to make it fair to the competition. (Sorry Martin Landau and Christian McKay)

BEST PICTURE
Brüno
Goodbye Solo
Lorna’s Silence
Maria Larsson’s Everlasting Moments
Moon

BEST ACTOR IN A LEADING ROLE
Sacha Baron Cohen – Bruno
James Nesbitt – Five Minutes of Heaven
Mikael Persbrant – Maria Larsson’s Everlasting Moments
Sam Rockwell – Moon
Souleymane Sy Savane – Goodbye Solo

BEST ACTRESS IN A LEADING ROLE
Amy Adams – Sunshine Cleaning
Morjana Alaoui – Martyrs
Arta Dobroshi – Lorna’s Silence
Maria Heiskanen – Maria Larsson’s Everlasting Moments
Evan Rachel Wood – Whatever Works

BEST ACTOR IN A SUPPORTING ROLE
Peter Capaldi – In the Loop
Denis Lavant – Tokyo!
Jeremie Renier – Lorna’s Silence
Peter Sarsgaard – The Mysteries of Pittsburgh
Scott Speedman – Adoration

BEST ACTRESS IN A SUPPORTING ROLE
Amy Adams – Night at the Museum : Battle at the Smithsonian
Zooey Deschanel – (500) Days of Summer
Nina Hoss – Jerichow
Gwyneth Paltrow – Two Lovers
Collete Wolfe – Observe and Report

BEST DIRECTOR
Alfredo Castro – Tony Manero
Jean-Pierre & Luc Dardenne – Lorna’s Silence
Duncan Jones – Moon
Jan Troell – Maria Larsson’s Everlasting Moments
Marc Webb – (500) Days of Summer

BEST ORIGINAL SCREENPLAY
Goodbye Solo
Lorna’s Silence
Maria Larsson’s Everlasting Moments
Moon

Up

BEST ADAPTED SCREENPLAY
Brüno
In the Loop
Mesrine: Part One
Pontypool
The Soloist

BEST CINEMATOGRAPHY
The Burning Plain
The Edge of Love
Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince
Mesrine: Part One
Sauna

BEST FILM EDITING
Goodbye Solo
Lorna’s Silence
Mesrine: Part One
Moon
Tony Manero

BEST ART DIRECTION
Angels and Demons
Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince
In the Loop
Maria Larsson’s Everlasting Moments
Nightwatching

BEST COSTUME DESIGN
The Brothers Bloom
Br
üno
Maria Larsson’s Everlasting Moments
Public Enemies
The Young Victoria

BEST MAKEUP
Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince
Martyrs
Moon
Star Trek
Terminator Salvation

BEST VISUAL EFFECTS
Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince
Knowing
Star Trek
Terminator Salvation
Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen

BEST SOUND MIXING
The Hurt Locker
Star Trek
Terminator Salvation
Up
Watchmen

BEST SOUND EDITING
Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince
The Hurt Locker
The International
Public Enemies
Star Trek

BEST ANIMATED FEATURE
Coraline
Monsters vs. Aliens

Up

BEST ORIGINAL SONG
“Dove of Peace” – Brüno
“Get To Where I’m Going” – Middle of Nowhere
“The Spirit of Adventure” – Up

BEST ORIGINAL SCORE
Angels and Demons
The Brothers Bloom
Is Anybody There?
Maria Larsson’s Everlasting Moments
Moon

The winners will be announced tomorrow evening. Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Forizzer’s Halfway Awards

  1. soniamortensen says:

    Awesome, I’m leaving to see Moon shortly so I’ll let you know what I think. I hope Rockwell’s as good as most people are saying. Where did you end up seeing Maria Larsson’s Everlasting Moments, I’ve been meaning to check it out.

  2. forizzer69 says:

    I downloaded it a long time ago – it was never released here. Maybe it was a few months ago, but it only played briefly; far too briefly for me to see downtown. I do believe it will be on DVD shortly. Whenever I get word on its DVD release, I’ll let you know. Oh, and I hope you enjoy Moon!

  3. matt_velvet says:

    Really cool noms, man. I’m going to blog mine in a minute.

    I hope I’m seeing Moon tomorrow.

    “Dove of Peace” — that’s the name of the song from Bruno? That will probably be my win for Best Song this year. Absolutely hysterical.

    “The Spirit of Adventure” was a decent song, too.

    I’ve got a hardon for the Amy Adams love. [cheers]

Leave a Reply

